Easy Chana Masala

Chanamasala1

Confession: I had never tried Indian food until I went to college. My parents are not the most adventurous of eaters when it comes to Eastern cuisine, so I had long been taught to associate Indian and Thai food with fear and indigestion. But one trip to Sitar in Nashville converted me for life… at least to a faith in the less spicy dishes. Tandoori chicken, garlic naan, samosas, bring it on. Vindaloo curry…. not so much.

Anyway, my new mission is to somehow convince my family that Indian food isn’t scary and can actually be made easily at home with familiar ingredients. Enter this recipe, which could not be simpler.

Chanamasala2

Easy Chana Masala

Serves 4; ~125 calories per serving, ~160 with cauliflower “rice”; vegetarian, vegan, dairy free, gluten free

1 can chickpeas

1 can diced tomatoes

1 medium yellow onion

1-2 cloves garlic

1.5 tbsp curry powder

*1 tsp ground ginger (or tablespoon fresh if you have it)

*scant tbsp coriander (or fresh cilantro)

*scant tbsp cumin

*1 tsp turmeric

salt to taste

1. Sauté onions in a large skillet/pan with plenty of cooking spray or oil over medium heat until translucent.

2. Add garlic and sauté for another minute.

3. Drain can of chickpeas and add to skillet. Stir.

4. Add all spices and salt, and stir until combined. It’s important to do this before you add your tomatoes so the spices work into the chickpeas.

5. Now add the tomatoes, undrained.

7. Turn heat to low, cover, and simmer for at least 5 minutes. Now would be a good time to make your rice, couscous, or (as I did) cauliflower “rice”, for serving.

And there you have it! I’m sure some Indian mama somewhere is shaking her head at my shortcut approximation of a very classic Indian dish, but at least I’m trying…?

Leave a comment